Skip to content
Saint Health Group

Starting a Methadone Clinic in Oregon: What You Actually Need to Know

Opening an OTP in Oregon requires federal SAMHSA certification, DEA registration, state OHA approval, and mandatory accreditation, all running simultaneously. Here is what the process actually looks like and why most programs take 24 to 36 months.

Easton Hallock, Founder, Saint Health Group·June 3, 2026 · 4 min read · Last updated September 1, 2026

Behavioral healthcare facility in the Oregon mountains
Behavioral healthcare facility in the Oregon mountains

Opening an opioid treatment program in Oregon means clearing a federal layer and a state layer, and they do not run one after the other. The federal path, DEA Schedule II registration, SAMHSA certification under 42 CFR Part 8, and accreditation, is the same wherever you open; our guide to how to open a methadone clinic covers it in full, including the 24 to 36 month timeline.

This page covers what Oregon adds on top: the SOTA letter, the medical director standard, MHACBO counselor credentialing, and Oregon Health Plan enrollment. Run both layers at the same time. Programs that finish the federal work before starting the state work lose a year to sequencing.

Oregon State Approval: The SOTA Letter

No person or entity may operate an OTP in Oregon without a letter of approval from the State Opioid Treatment Authority (SOTA) at the Oregon Health Authority, as required by OAR 415-020-0010.

The state application requires documentation of accreditation under OAR 415-020-0010(2)(c), compliance with 42 CFR Part 8, and compliance with 42 CFR Part 2 for patient records confidentiality. Confirm with the State Opioid Treatment Authority what documentation it accepts from a new program. Oregon also has specific requirements for the medical director: a physician licensed by the Oregon Medical Board, holding a license that permits ordering, dispensing, and administering opioid agonist medications, with a minimum of 12 hours per year of continuing education specific to addiction treatment.

OHA does not publish a processing time for state OTP approval, so contact the State Opioid Treatment Authority early to confirm current timelines.

Staffing Requirements Under Oregon Law

Every staff member providing clinical services must be credentialed appropriately. Oregon addiction counselors are credentialed through the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO). The three tiers are:

CredentialEducation hoursExperience hoursAlso required
CADC I1501,000 supervisedIC&RC exam
CADC II3004,000A bachelor's degree or MHACBO's equivalent; NCAC II exam
CADC-III3006,000 supervised practiceMaster's degree; MAC exam

Oregon also requires a minimum of two hours per month of clinical supervisor consultation for treatment staff, with at least one hour individual and face-to-face. The 2024 SAMHSA final rule expanded the federal definition of "practitioner" to include licensed nurse practitioners and physician assistants, which adds hiring flexibility, but Oregon's medical director standard and counselor credentialing tiers still apply on top of it. Nurse practitioners and physician assistants may order or change doses only with prior approval from the State Opioid Treatment Authority (OAR 415-020-0070(3)).

Key planning note: your core clinical staff typically need to be in place before state surveyors visit, which means you are paying salaries before you have patient revenue. Budget for several months of payroll and operating costs before collections begin, and build the figure from your own pro forma. Sequencing hiring against that cash runway is part of our behavioral health startup consulting.

OHP Enrollment Should Start Early

If you plan to serve Oregon Medicaid patients, which you almost certainly will given the population an OTP serves, Oregon Health Plan enrollment needs to start well before opening. You will need a 10-digit National Provider Identifier (NPI) from NPPES and the OHP provider enrollment forms for organizations (OHA 3972, 3974 and 3975).

OHA does not state a fixed processing time, so submit enrollment early and track the application status. Begin enrollment concurrently with licensure, not after you open. Our addiction treatment center consulting runs payer enrollment alongside the licensing filings so an OTP is not waiting to bill after it opens.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a SOTA letter and who issues it in Oregon?

It is the letter of approval from the State Opioid Treatment Authority at the Oregon Health Authority, required under OAR 415-020-0010 before anyone may operate an OTP in Oregon. SAMHSA will not act on your federal certification until the state approval is in hand, which puts it on the critical path.

How long does Oregon SOTA approval take?

OHA does not publish a processing time for state OTP approval, so contact the State Opioid Treatment Authority early to confirm current timelines.

What are Oregon's medical director requirements for an OTP?

A physician licensed by the Oregon Medical Board, holding a license that permits ordering, dispensing, and administering opioid agonist medications, with a minimum of 12 hours per year of continuing education specific to addiction treatment. Recruiting for this role is frequently the longest lead item in the plan.

What counselor credentials does an Oregon OTP need?

Clinical staff are credentialed through MHACBO across three tiers. CADC-I requires 150 education hours and 1,000 supervised practice hours; CADC II requires a bachelor's degree or MHACBO's equivalent, 300 education hours, 4,000 experience hours and the NCAC II exam; CADC-III requires a master's degree, 300 education hours, and 6,000 supervised hours.

When should an Oregon OTP start OHP enrollment?

Concurrently with licensure, not after opening. OHA does not state a fixed processing time, so submit enrollment early and track the application status. You will need an NPI from NPPES and the OHP provider enrollment forms for organizations (OHA 3972, 3974 and 3975).

Saint Health works with programs in the planning and development phase to build the regulatory roadmap, manage accreditation preparation, and avoid the delays that push timelines past 36 months. If you are in early planning stages for an OTP in Oregon, contact us before you sign a lease.

Saint Health is also listed as a verified consulting partner on the Oregon Counselor Directory, a resource for behavioral health providers across Oregon.

An OTP is one program type inside a much larger build. For the full sequence every new program runs, licensing, facility, staffing, credentialing, and revenue cycle, see our guide on how to open a treatment center.

Ask about this article

Have a question this article did not answer? Send it to the team that wrote it and we will reply by email within two business days. Prefer to talk? 503-389-3239

Your name and email go only to our team, never a mailing list. We never sell your information.

One email a week, on Thursdays. Rule changes, payer policy and new guides for behavioral health operators.

No spam. Unsubscribe any time.

More from The Journal

Back to The Journal →
Saint Health GroupTypically replies in seconds
Saint Health said:
Hi, I'm here to help. Ask me anything about behavioral health licensing, revenue cycle, compliance, or how Saint Health works.